ballet, injury prevention, The Pennsylvania Ballet

This Is Why Ballerinas Don’t Say “Break a Leg”

Luckily, I didn’t break my leg *knocks on wood*…and hopefully I never will! But I did happen to sprain my ankle the night before a performance. My foot slipped and cracked on stage during dress rehearsal, and in an instant, all of my hard work put in for months and months for the show was taken away.

It’s pretty incredible how something could disappear from your life like that so quickly, and so unexpectedly. It’s heartbreaking.

Despite the persistent swelling of my ankle, I was ready to perform the next day. Unfortunately, after much consultation with doctors over the phone and with my parents and friends, I made the decision to sit out. That was probably one of the toughest decisions I’ve ever had to make.

But honestly, did I really have a choice? My ankle was injured, there was no doubt about that. And it wouldn’t have been worth it, to dance. I couldn’t choose ONE performance over my entire career, risking further injury, even though I would have given anything to be on stage with the girls that day.

I was really blessed to have Miss Arantxa, Miss Joanne, my family, and my friends at the school by my side. I’m so indescribably thankful for them.

The good news is that after recovering for 5 weeks, my physical therapist believes that I am strong enough to dance again! The Pennsylvania Ballet summer intensive begins next week, and I cannot wait to get back into the studios and work (slowly but surely). I’ll be updating my blog on the progress of my ankle as the weeks continue. Thank you so much for the support everyone. 🙂

 

1 thought on “This Is Why Ballerinas Don’t Say “Break a Leg””

Leave a Reply

