ballet

Starting Off On the Right Foot

9/3/16

Hey everyone!

I am so eager to get back into The Pennsylvania Ballet studios and begin the 2016-2017 season as a Trainee in the school!!! Expect many future posts about my day-to-day classes, rehearsals with the company, and city living 🙂

A few updates about my dance life…

-After a recent consultation with my podiatrist, she believes that I have posterior ankle impingement due to my ankle sprain rehabilitation exercises. Posterior impingement basically means that the back of my ankle experiences a pinching pain whenever my foot is pointed. Fortunately, it is very fixable! With proper warm-up and strengthening exercises, my ankle shouldn’t hurt anymore. Yay!

-Today I completed my first full ballet class en pointe! Yes, jumps and all!

-I’ve been experimenting with Gaynor Minden pointe shoes, but unfortunately, I experience A LOT of pain in my toes with them on. Has any other dancer felt similar pain with those shoes? If so, any tips on how to make it go away please!

1 thought on “Starting Off On the Right Foot”

  1. Hi there! Maria from GM here 🙂 If you’re experiencing a lot of pain on your toes while on pointe, your shoe is likely a little short or a little wide! If you want, shoot me an email and I’ll see if we can help you trouble shoot a bit. It’s maria@dancer.com.

    Like

Leave a Reply

